General Committee Members for 2020-2021:

Flag Officers for 2020-2021

The Flag Officers (FO) are elected from the General Committee members for a term of two years.  The FO are responsible for policy making and strategy and are guardians of the Club’s ethos.  They represent the Club in public affairs and chair the sub-committees of the Club.  The Honorary Treasurer and Honorary General Secretary are technical positions and they are responsible for accounting and legal functions.

General Committee

The General Committee is the Board of Directors of the Aberdeen Boat Club.  It is here that major decisions are made.  The General Committee comprise 6 Flag Officers and 11 other members who are elected at the Annual General Meeting for terms of 2 years.

The Commodore is the Chairman of the General Committee.  Members of the General Committee are expected to undertake various tasks and accept appointments to sub-committees.  In addition, each sub-committee may co-opt lay members to their meetings as they see fit.

The function of the General Committee is to ensure the efficient management of the general affairs of the Club as provided for under the Memorandum and Articles of Association.

Members for the year 2020-2021

Flag Officers
Chris Pooley 
Commodore (Chairman)
Barry Hill
Vice Commodore
Graham Price
Rear Commodore
(House and Building)
Graeme Brechin
  Rear Commodore 
  (Sailing and Marine)
James Smith
Honorary Treasurer
Nick Bodnar-Horvath
Honorary General Secretary
other general committee members
John Berry James Ross Andrew Blank
Alan Child Martin Ganz Eric Tang
Ian Skeggs Jon Zinke Christopher Tung
Stephen Perret Sam Cheng John Currie


Sailing and Marine Committee & Dinghy sub-committee

The Sailing and Marine Committee is chaired by the Rear Commodore (Sailing). Members of this committee plan and organise all of the Club’s races and training courses, liaise with other clubs and organisations for external events, monitor our Club boats and ferry services, and are responsible for ongoing maintenance and development of our sailing and marine facilities and services.

  • Graeme Brechin (Chairman)
  • Chris Pooley
  • Ian Skeggs
  • John Currie
  • John Berry
  • Stephen Perret
  • Andrew Blank
  • Christopher Tung
  • Bob Aylsworth (co-opted)
House and Building Committee

The House and Building Committee is chaired by the Rear Commodore (House) and deals with all issues involving the Club’s non-marine facilities and services. These include all aspects of building maintenance, house keeping, facilities up-keeping (swimming pool, gym, playground, DVD, etc). The committee also oversees all food and beverage matters and social events of the Club.

  • Graham Price (Chairman)
  • Chris Pooley
  • Jon Zinke
  • James Smith
  • Martin Ganz
  • Sam Cheng
  • Christopher Tung
Development Committee

The ABC Development Committee is chaired this year by an elected member of the committee and is responsible for ensuring a sustainable improvement of the facilities of the Club Main Clubhouse and Middle Island.

  • Barry Hill (Chairman)
  • Alan Child
  • Chris Pooley
  • Eric Tang
  • Graham Price
  • John Berry

Advisory Members

  • Paul Scroggie
  • Sam Cheng



ABC Membership committee
  • Nicholas Bodnar-Horvath (Chairman)
  • Christopher Pooley
  • John Berry
  • Jon Zinke

ABC Staff Committee

The ABC Staff Committee is looking at any related business and issues for staffing and human resources.